Local School Advisory Team (LSAT)

Local School Advisory Team for 2018-2019

  • James Sarakatsannis, Chair
  • Jade Brawley, Principal
  • Kristin Baldwin
  • Robyn Brooks
  • Theo Francis
  • Sandra Hart
  • Bonnie-Jean Harvey
  • Crystal Moorefield
  • Gwendolyn Washington

The Local School Advisory Team (LSAT) is a group of elected and appointed members that exists for every DCPS school. The team (formerly the Local School Restructuring Teams) consists of parents, teachers, non-instructional school staff, a community member, and in some cases students, to advise the principal on matters that promote high expectations and high achievement for all students.

As they have since 1992, Local School Advisory Teams have primary responsibility for the following:

  • advising the principal on priorities and goals;
  • working with the principal on developing the local Comprehensive School Plan, including the supporting budget;
  • reviewing data in order to be informed about school needs and trends;
  • monitoring and assessing the implementation of the local Comprehensive School Plan;
  • using assessment results to develop specific strategies for research-based school improvement;
  • alignment of strategic and specific goals and objectives of DCPS.

Visit the DCPS website to learn more about the function and purpose of the LSAT.


Meetings are held most months; the LSAT is required to meet six times over the course of the year. All meetings are considered public, although non-LSAT members may be asked to leave when confidential matters are addressed. Monthly minutes can be found on the school website once they are approved. Parent representatives are elected by parents and teacher representatives by teachers. Elections are held annually in the spring. LSAT leadership positions are chosen by LSAT members.

LSAT Meeting Minutes:

2018-2019 school year


2014-2015 school year


2013-2014 school year


2012-2013 school year


2011-2012 school year


2010-2011 school year